Success Story| Vrishali Mulay | Lost 11 kgs in one year despite hormonal imbalances due to PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome)

 

Today I have lost 11 kg excessive body weight, gone from size XL to M and my PCOS is also under control, thanks to diet and exercise.” – Vrishali Mulay

IMG-20151207-WA0010

I left my job and turned entrepreneur. When I was on a job, I was not overweight. But when I turned entrepreneur and started operating from home, I started gaining weight. I was struggling with abnormal menstrual cycles. Later I was diagnosed with PCOS. In this medical issue, weight is of prime concern, and that’s how I decided I have to reduce my weight.  I went to Amita and asked her guidance in this. We had detailed discussion on likes/dislikes in eating habits and other relevant things. PCOS and the resultant hormonal imbalance was a biggest barrier in weight loss. With all these challenges we started our diet program as designed by Amita.

Initially it was not easy for me, as after school days now I was going to run for some distance so I was not sure whether I could do it, but then I started with baby steps. Due to a previous ankle injury, I could not run. So I had to first start with walk, after say 4 months I started jogging but that too for 500 meters, and then slowly I increased this to upto 2 kms. In case of diet it was relatively easy for me as I like fruits and salad but I also had some cravings and temptations for sweet, and other foods like oily and spicy. Sandwich is my weak point, I told Amita about this and she incorporated it in my diet for some period. I used to communicate with her on daily basis for initial 4-5 months. She never compelled me to do anything, it was always a discussion which gave me insight about what to eat and when to eat.

During this entire journey my husband (Tejas) was the sole support for me. When i decided to go for weight loss program he immediately said let’s do it together. That was the time when I felt, yes I can do it. I simply followed what Amita asked me to do. She helped me to understand my body type.

Today almost after a year I have lost 11 kg excess body weight and gone from size XL (extra large) to M (medium). Most importantly, my PCOS issue is also in control with all other biochemical parameters in line with normal conditions. I could achieve this only because of diet and exercise.  I thank Amita for this as without her guidance this would not have possible.

About Amita

Nutritionist, Foodie, Mum.
This entry was posted in Testimonials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

