Quick Fix Recipe | Spaghetti al Pesto (Spaghetti in Pesto Sauce)

Spaghetti in Pesto Sauce

This was lunch today. I have been meaning to make this particular recipe since about a month or may be more. But with R’s demand on my time increasing with each day, it seemed next to impossible. That’s when I made a compromise with myself, I decided to use store bought pesto. If you want to make your own pesto then you have to try this recipe by The Pioneer Woman (This used to be my go-to recipe for pesto when I had that kind of time. Sigh!). I have just adapted her recipe to suit what I had available with me. Using some portobello mushrooms also makes some yum pasta and so does an addition of sausages, chicken strips or prawns. Once you have all the ingredients ready, it does not take more than ten minutes to get this pasta ready- a real quick fix!

You will need:

250 g spaghetti
100 ml cream (I used homemade cream)
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 tsp butter
3 tbsp pesto (you can add more for a pronounced pesto kick, I had to restrain myself as M is more a fan of creamy pasta)
1 yellow pepper, julienne
1/2 zucchini, julienne
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Method:
– Boil salted water in a large pot and cook the spaghetti al dente. Drain and keep aside.
– Heat the olive oil in a pan and add the garlic, yellow pepper and zucchini to it and saute for a minute. Remove and keep aside.
– Take the cream and butter in a saucepan and warm it. Add the pesto and parmesan (reserve a bit for garnishing later) to the cream and stir it quickly. Add the yellow pepper and zucchini to it and take it off the flame. Season with salt and pepper and mix well. Now, add the spaghetti to this creamy sauce and toss the pasta well.
– Garnish with the remainder parmesan and serve immediately.

About Amita

Nutritionist, Foodie, Mum.
This entry was posted in Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

