Banana Cake with whole wheat flour

Sllluurrrrpp!! I love love love this cake!

Why does everyone treat bananas like a diet enemy? Please get this right, bananas are packed with good potassium, dietary fiber, phosphorous, magnesium, folates and Vitamin C along with other vitamins, minerals and some proteins. If you are paranoid about calories, then let me tell you that one medium sized banana has less calories than one can of coke (330ml). It is a good fruit and a delicious one at that! There, now that I have established that bananas are our friends, let me take you to the banana cake. 🙂

I have been hooked to banana cake since as long as I remember. My mom used to make it on her stove top oven, so it used to turn out a little dry (also am sure she must have been skimping on the butter!) but nevertheless, it used to be delicious. I did not know of the most common ‘banana bread‘ till quite recently. The difference between a banana bread and a cake is not just limited to the absence of the nuts in the cake; but also in the fact that, while the bread is dense, the cake is oh-so-light and delicate.

This cake recipe is from an old marathi cookbook ‘ Ruchira‘ by Mrs. Kamla Ogale. My granny gifted this book to my mom, who then gave it to me (re-bound). This book is the complete guide to Marathi cooking and also has surprises like the banana cake and the donut! I have adapted the recipe to using only 100 g of butter (It is an obsession with me, not using any more than 100g butter to make any cake). The final product is moist, soft, delicate and ‘I want more’!

You will need:
100 g butter, salted
1 cup sugar (you can use diet sugar)
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp lemon juice
3 super ripe almost black, bananas, mashed to a goo
1/2 cup skimmed milk

Method:

Cream the butter and the sugar together till fluffy. Then add the beaten eggs and mix lightly. In a bowl, mix thoroughly, the whole wheat flour, the baking soda, baking powder. To the sugar and egg mixture, add the mashed bananas and lime juice and mix. Now add the flour mixture to the banana mixture and mix thoroughly. Add milk to make a batter which falls like a thick ribbon. Prepare (grease and dust with flour) a large square or round baking tin, pour the batter into it and bake at 180 degrees celcius for 30-35 minutes, till a skewer inserted in the middle of the cake comes out clean.

If you have really made the cake right, you should not be able to resist cutting into it and gorging even when it is just out of the oven! 😀 You can see that I could not wait even to take the pictures before I bit into one!

About Amita

Nutritionist, Foodie, Mum.
This entry was posted in Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Banana Cake with whole wheat flour

  1. Swati says:

    hey Amita,

    I have heard of the book you are talking…….

    I will buy it next time I visit India :D.

    Cheers,
    Swati

    Like

  2. Swati says:

    Sorry I forgot to mention….I will make this cake and get back to you with the reviews :)….

    Thanks for posting it …

    Like

  3. Swati says:

    Hey Amita,

    I tried the Banana cake…It is very awesome in taste. Also, just because I added 3 Bananas its sweet in taste…If anyone likes less sweet they can reduce some amount of sugar since we are using the ripe bananas.

    It took me more than 2 hours to bake the cake…I have a cooking range so I guess it is a regular convection oven. Since it uses the Fahrenheit scale…I double the mentioned temperature from 180 C to 350 F.

    The quantity of batter was more I had to prepare 2 baking dishes… Sorry but i don’t know the size of that dish. Amita can you figure out the size from the picture that I have posted on

    Moreover, can you add an upload button to this blog so that I rather let me say we can add pictures too…

    Cheers,
    Swati

    Like

  4. Adewuyi ibukun says:

    I swati, my own view is dat most of d recipe are not in nigeria may be u can hav another alternative 4 d people who reseized in nigeria

    Like

  5. lu says:

    I´m preparing right now the cake…actually, I used strawberries instead of bananas as it is the season here in Spain…let us see what happens…actually, I am baking it in a traditional oven heated with real dry wood…the aroma already is fantastic!

    Like

  6. Hi Amita, I wanted to try this recipe but I’m not sure what modifications I need to make in the mode/cooking time while using a regular Microwave oven? This is my first trial baking something in my microwave so not sure if I use the Grill mode or Microwave+Grill mode, how much time roughly to cook it etc. Would really appreciate your help!

    Thanks
    Ankita

    Like

    • amitagadre says:

      Hi Ankita,

      you will need to use the convection mode in your microwave for this. dont forget to preheat the oven, there will be a preheat option on your oven. Cooking time should be about 30-45 minutes. the cake will be a golden brown, and a toothpick inserted in the middle of the cake will come out clean (without any dough/crumbs) when the cake is done. hope that helps.

      Like

    • Amita says:

      hi ankita,

      you will need to use the convection mode of the microwave oven. cooking time should remain more or less the same.

      Like

  7. Priyanka Shirke says:

    loved the variation!! I am gonna Try for sure!! good work!

    Like

  8. amrita says:

    1 cup is how many ml

    Like

Leave a Reply

