Healthy Recipe: Sesame Tossed Noodle Salad

It might seem that I am obsessed with noodles (something which even I am beginning to believe!) but I had the perfect excuse to be boiling noodles yet again. If I did not use them up, they were going to be ruined. Come on people, I live in Mumbai. Out here- anything and everything spoils before you know it. And my freezer has a limited (already stuffed) capacity. Plus, these noodles were special. These were Soba noodles made from buckwheat which I found at Hypercity (I live by and very close to, this store!). 🙂 I wanted to retain the goodness of buckwheat and hence I thought of trying this noodle salad recipe from one of my most cherished books ‘Best Ever Three and Four Ingredient Cookbook’ . I had bought this book when I got my first proper job (meaning one which paid me enough to be able to buy a foreign author’s amazingly illustrated cookbook). One of the reasons for buying it was that, not only were they actually using only up to four ingredients, but they really highlighted the concept of ‘less is more’ and fuss free delicious cooking- again two principles, I firmly believe in.

I adapted the recipe to make it more salad and less noodle, by adding loads and loads of fresh vegetables. The addition of sesame and sesame oil gives it an additional kick. I used a convenient shortcut of using the laksa paste, which I always have stored in the fridge. But you can always use finely chopped ginger, garlic, red chillies and peanuts instead. This recipe is as easy as it can get, although you can make it easier for you by having someone do the vegetable chopping! Now that’s an idea huh? 😉

You will need:

3 carrots- chopped/julienned/peeled into strips with a peeler
1 cup of spring onion- julienned/chopped
1 small white radish- julienned (this gives a pungent taste and can be omitted if you don’t like it)
2 tsp sesame seeds, toasted
1 tsp olive oil
2 tsp sesame oil
a dash of soy
salt to taste
2 tbsp laksa paste
150 grams soba noodles or any noodles, cooked al dente

– Warm up the oil in a wok and add the laksa paste to it. Next add all the vegetables and give it a really brisk stir so that all the vegetables are coated with the dressing. Finally toss in the noodles and sesame seeds, remove immediately from the flame and toss again till the noodles are well mixed with the dressing and the vegetables.
– That is it! Eat!

About Amita

Nutritionist, Foodie, Mum.
This entry was posted in Healthy Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healthy Recipe: Sesame Tossed Noodle Salad

  1. Farzin says:

    Hi, was wondering where I can get Laksa paste in Mumbai?

    Thanks!
    Fuzzy

    Like

  2. Our site,Liveligood.Org, is dedicated to helping people lead healthy lives. As a part of the site, we offer resources for people to learn about healthy recipes around the world. We are inviting chefs around the world to showcase some of their best and healthiest recipes.

    I want to invite you to present some of your recipes on Liveligood.Org. Besides posting your recipes, you can also add one page of background information about yourself. This will allow people to get to know you, and add to your visibility in the internet.

    Please let me know if this is something you will be interested in, and I will send you further details about the logistics.

    Warm regards,

    Mohan Venkataramana.
    Seattle, WA
    (425) 883-0664

    Like

Leave a Reply

