Fitness Basics: Hop Skip Jump to a Healthier YOU

It is really as easy as that. All that you need is a skipping rope and some decent shoes and your work out routine is set. 15 mins of skipping burns more calories than 20 mins of brisk walking on the treadmill. And whats better is that you can do it anywhere- you just need a floor or a ground and you are ready to skip it up!

I have found this extremely useful myself ‘coz believe it or not, I am extremely lazy when it comes to dragging myself to the gym. I can do brisk walks in the open, am all game for a game of squash or even a quick round of basket ball. Say the ‘G’ word and you will have me groaning. Still time and again I have done this and failed – paid annual membership fees of the gym and then hardly gone there for a month. I am sure many of you have done this too, its OK, I ll do all the confessions for all of you. 🙂

But skipping is more along my style. 1. I don’t have to change into gym clothes. 2. I don’t have to get out of the house 3. I don’t have to constantly keep looking at the wall or the mirrors or other people sweating it out 4. I am in my own comfort space working out without having to think ‘how am I looking when I am doing this exercise’.

A word of caution here though. If you have ailing knees or any bone/muscle injuries then you might want to check with your doctor before you take up skipping. Never think of skipping without wearing any shoes, the hard flooring of our homes absolutely hurts the balls of our feet if we skip without our shoes on.

Here is another helpful article about the benefits of skipping as a cardio exercise.

About Amita

Nutritionist, Foodie, Mum.
This entry was posted in Diet and Nutrition- Simplified and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

