Am saving up my appetite for the party on the 31st! Are you?

I am kidding. I have learned in my classes as well as through my own experiences (the hard way of course!), that, Never save up your appetite before a party. Umm.. sorry for the highlight out there. But it really is a very important point to remember.

Yes I also know that the total calories in a day is what matters and not just what you eat at one single meal time. Agreed. But not eating enough 48 hours in advance to a party is nothing but abusing your body. Take me three years ago for example. The year end bash in my college. Free good food, free booze, great music, great dancing. I wanted to be a part of it all. But I also knew that I was fat and that it was not good for me. I came up with the common sense logic of total calories consumed and all that and ending up having a gala time at the party. And I was two kgs heavier by Jan 2nd. I had made the same mistake that a whole lot of us do. Saved up my appetite because I did not want to miss out on all that great food. Well, I paid for it a bit too dearly.

Eat eat eat! Through the entire day and just before the party. Remember the two bowls of soup tip? Also, grab the salad along with your drink as soon as the party begins. Do not neglect the ever important H2O, dehydration plus alcohol plus no food is just soo not good! Stay away from the fried stuff. Grilled versions rock! Hail Asian cuisine- opt for the Asian salad, steamed bun, Sushi oh yes! It is just so uncool to be having fries and fried chicken. 🙂

Remember, you will be able to see the new year morning much better and happier if you have not starved yourself before the party and gone wild (in the context of food and beverage) during the event!

So wish you all a happy and healthy new year and a great party on 31st night! Cheers!

About Amita

Nutritionist, Foodie, Mum.
This entry was posted in Diet and Nutrition- Simplified and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

